top of page

MLS Academy Sides FC Dallas, Toronto FC, and St. Louis CITY SC to Compete in 2024 Gordon Jago Super Group

12-team Super Group represents eight countries and features six former Super Group champions

DALLAS, Texas (Thursday, Feb. 29) – Dallas Cup, the oldest and most prestigious international youth soccer tournament in North America, is proud to announce that MLS academy sides FC Dallas, Toronto FC, and St. Louis CITY SC will compete at the 2024 Dallas Cup presented by Coca-Cola, rounding out the 12-team Gordon Jago Super Group. The 2024 Super Group features elite teams from eight countries and includes six former Super Group champions.

Heralded as one of the top MLS youth academies FC Dallas brings a rich history to the Dallas Cup, having secured eleven "Boot & Ball" trophies, including a memorable Super Group triumph in 2017. Spearheaded by current FC Dallas players Paxton Pomykal and Jesús Ferreira, the 2017 championship marked a historic milestone as FC Dallas became the first and only MLS Academy side to claim victory in the elite bracket. Notably, Ferreira went on to represent the United States at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™, alongside other FC Dallas graduates Weston McKennie, Kellyn Acosta, and Shaq Moore.

As Dallas Cup’s host club, more than 25 elite FC Dallas boys and girls teams will represent the club again at the 2024 edition of the tournament. Additionally, FC Dallas families will remain instrumental to the success of Dallas Cup by providing hundreds of volunteer hours throughout tournament week.

Toronto FC will make their fifth Super Group appearance since debuting in the elite bracket in 2013.  In their previous Super Group appearances, Toronto FC has been held up in the group stage, but the Canadian side hopes to improve on their previous appearances and become the first Canadian Super Group champion of all time. Like so many clubs worldwide, Toronto FC has several alumni ties to Dallas Cup. Longtime Toronto FC captain Michael Bradley played in the 2004 Dallas Cup. Fellow TFC standouts Jozy Altidore (DC 2004) and Dwayne De Rosario (DC 1996) rank in the top 5 of the club’s all-time goal scorers list.

Making their debut at the Dallas Cup in 2024, St. Louis CITY SC enters the tournament with some momentum, following a strong showing in the United Premier Soccer League’s National Finals. After an impressive run that saw them reach the championship match, St. Louis CITY SC seeks to etch their name in Dallas Cup history and become the first Missouri-based champion across all age groups since 1992.

With FC Dallas, Toronto FC, and St. Louis CITY SC joining the fray, the Gordon Jago Super Group lineup boasts a diverse array of teams from eight countries, including six former Super Group champions.

2024 Gordon Jago Super Group

Botafogo (BRA)

Sao Paulo FC (BRA)

Toronto FC (CAN) L.D. Alajuelense (CRI)

FC Midtjylland (DEN)

Fulham FC (ENG)

Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)

CF Monterrey (MEX)

Club Santos Laguna (MEX)

Tigres UANL (MEX) FC Dallas (USA)

St. Louis CITY SC (USA)

The 2024 Dallas Cup presented by Coca-Cola (Boys U12-U19) will be played March 24 through March 31 as the tournament celebrates an important milestone with its 45th anniversary. The boys’ tournament will once again be played concurrently with the Dallas Cup Girls Invitational (Girls U15-U19) which runs March 23 through March 29.

Stay tuned for ticketing and scheduling information regarding the marquee opening day matchups at Cotton Bowl Stadium. For further details about the tournament, fans and teams can visit or follow us on social media @dallascup.

1 commentaire

Will the football tournament matches be broadcast online?

bottom of page